Thursday, February 4, 2016

Starflight Tour: Why loving Firefly means you'll love Starflight


 Today, I've got a special treat, talking about why if you love Firefly, you're going to LOOOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEE Starflight.

ABOUT STARFLIGHT:
Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She's so desperate to reach the realm that she's willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he's been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe...
LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository


ABOUT MELISSA LANDERS:
Melissa Landers writes romantic sci-fi for teens and the young at heart. ALIENATED and INVADED are now
available from Disney Hyperion, and UNITED, the third book in the trilogy, will release in August, 2016. The first novel in her new series, STARFLIGHT, launches February 2, 2016.

**IMPORTANT** Please do not request an ARC through Goodreads. All review copies are distributed by the publisher.
 
LINKS: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram






Starflight and Firefly - Why they are a match made in the skies

An adorable mechanic

 Solara and Kaylee are both wicked smart and wicked funny. Both of these superstars lacked formal training in their field, but excelled when it came to understanding their ships.

Oh Captain, My Captain

While the captain of the Banshee is not nearly as ruggedly handsome as Mal, but both men show a devotion and love to their ships and their crews.



There's the one guy who you want to shove out an airlock, but you love him anyway.



 Besides having rhyming names, Jayne and Kane were both lovable and also aggravating in their actions. Kane did eventually redeem himself which does help, but a little rough around the edges none the less.

Both ships take on passengers who aren't exactly telling the truth.

Solara leads the way in informing the crew of their vague trip whereas Simon is the one who keeps River a secret from the crew. While the nature of their relationships



There is banter between the sexual tension.
Solara and Doran may not have had the easiest start to their relationship, but that's what makes you want them to succeed, not to mention open their eyes to the fact that they have amazing chemistry.

There are dance moves!



So much action! 



At it's core, it's a love story.
But it's a love story set in space.



Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:
2/12: Novel Heartbeat - Review
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Thursday, January 28, 2016

BLOG TOUR: Front Lines

Author: Michael Grant
Goodreads Rating: 4.19
Pages: 576
Format: ARC from Publisher for Blog Tour

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

 LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | The Book Depository

Review: Winter

Author: Marissa Meyer
Goodreads Rating: 4.54
Pages: 824
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

BLOG TOUR: The Impostor Queen Review

Author: Sarah Fine
Goodreads Rating: 3.90
Pages: 423


Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by magical priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.

But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.

Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, the home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between the love she has for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must align with the right side—before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.
LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

Friday, January 22, 2016

The 100 Blog Tour : DAY 21 Review



Soooo, was anyone else watching The 100 last night? I know I was, this show has been one of my favorites for so long, well really since the start. Even when the first book was coming out, I was so excited to read the book and see the show. They are fortunately very different which helps with the enjoyment of both. Today I'm going to talk about Day 21, the second book in the series.
 

For centuries after a nuclear war destroyed the Earth, the human race has lived on spaceships far above the radioactive surface. Now, for one hundred juvenile delinquents, it's time to return home. Their mission: recolonize the savage land. The future of humanity rests in their hands.

Read the series that inspired the hit TV show. The 100, Day 21,and Homecoming are gathered together for the first time in this striking boxed set, perfect for fans and series newcomers alike.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N


About Kass Morgan:

Kass Morgan studied literature at Brown and Oxford, and now resides in Brooklyn, where she lives in constant fear of her Ikea bookcase collapsing and burying her under a mound of science fiction and Victorian novels. Kass is currently working on the sequel to The 100, which she’ll finish as soon as she finds a coffee shop that allows laptops on the weekend.


LINKS: Website | Twitter

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...