Friday, March 14, 2014


Author: Sophie Jordan
Goodreads Rating: 3.92
Pages: 384
Format: ARC gifted from Hannah

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.
When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.
Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.
The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

What a stellar book. I truly enjoyed reading The Firelight series by Jordan, but this was a step above and beyond. This book really wowed me, because I absolutely loved the plot. There were a few points that the plot really made me question it, but that was more of questioning the idea of a kill gene than anything else. This book takes some awful hypotheticals and makes you truly wonder.

This book really makes you feel for Davy who had this perfect life before. She was happy and had a life and then everything was stripped from her just because she allegedly had the potential for for murder. All because some test says that she has the propensity to kill. The came a point in the book where I was devastated for Davy because she was being punished for something that she had yet to do.

A really interesting part of this book was that between each chapter, we were given a glimpse in to what was going on in the outside world. We saw clips of instant messaging and broadcasts involving the HTS and even correspondence with the president regarding what should be done with them. I felt that it added to the story being we had more context for what was going on around Davy's world.

I also adored that the romance was not an instalove or pushed. It happened and it didn't happen right away, it took some time for it to really develop which eased my nerves. Sean was a strong character who still has so many secrets that I cannot wait to find out about. I felt like I was in the book with Davy and Sean, I felt their fear and despair. I think that this was a fabulous start to a new series from Sophie Jordan and the next book cannot come out soon enough.
The Court's Decision:


1 comment:

  1. LOVED this one as well. Completely agree that it's better that Firelight (which I also really enjoyed).



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...