Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Blog Tour: Not After Everything

Author: Michelle Levy
Goodreads Rating: 4.09
Publisher: Penguin
Page Count: 336
Format: Finished Copy Received from Publisher


 Fans of Eleanor and ParkThe Spectacular Now, Willow, and Perfectly Good White Boy won't be able to put down this gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens.
Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go. Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn’t (money): He needs a job. It’s there that he reunites with Jordyn, his childhood best friend, and now the token goth girl at school. Jordyn brings Tyler an unexpected peace and, finally, love. But with his family in shambles, he can’t risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into his life. So when violence rocks Tyler’s world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it in himself?

This tough, realistic page-turner reveals a boy's point of view on loss and love—perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Tim Tharp, Julia Hoban, Carrie Mesrobian, and Mindi Scott.

This book...Where to start. That's not a bad thing not knowing where to start because this book was so complex and involved that I had so many feelings while I read this book. I felt sorrow and love and blinding RAGE while reading this book. For a book to evoke so many emotions and so strongly, I find is quite rare. 

Tyler was so heartbreaking through the entire book. He had this wall up a mile high to keep everyone around him so far away be it his girlfriend or his best friend, he pushed everyone in his life so far away that it's a wonder that he was able to still have people to rely on. You often hear people complain that women can't write men well and that men cannot write women well, but Michelle Levy, does an amazing job capturing Tyler - not just the teenage boy who likes to have sex, but as the teenage boy who is lost without a raft now that his mother is gone.

The way that Jordyn comes into his life was pretty great. I loved how she was unafraid to be herself. She knew who she was, and even if it was unpopular, and that's who she continued to be. She was unapologetic to Tyler in her behavior and that was what made her stand out to him, that she didn't treat him with kid gloves like everyone else, she treated him like a person.

The supporting cast of characters were all just as vibrant, from Tyler's Psychologist who didn't try to analyze him to the bone and to Jordyn's family who welcomed Tyler without question or pause.

This book does things to your heart and makes you think about people who do have this life. I would not recommend this book for people who have no tolerance for animal abuse or who have a problem with abuse in general. For everyone else, you NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. 

The Courts Decision:


No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...